Indiana - Area Code 812

Where is Area Code 812?

Area code (812) is in the state of Indiana

Indiana is a landlocked state, and shares borders with Kentucky and Ohio to the north, and Iowa and Illinois to the south. The central part of Indiana consists of Columbus and Marion counties. There are six counties in all; the rest are divided between Bloomington and Columbus, Indianapolis, Muncie, Bellevue, Warsaw, Noblesville, Gary, Hendricks and Union City. Each county is represented by a number and letter. The first two counties are also part of the Southern tier of states, but not Indiana.


Bloomington is the geographical center of the State and is the largest city of the six counties that make up the metropolitan region. The six counties surrounding Bloomington include: LaPorte, Hamilton, Hancock, Elkhart, and Marion. The city of Bloomington is situated on the north bank of Lake Michigan, on the west bank of the Mississippi River, and along the east bank of the Scioto River.

Bloomington is also the capital and largest city of the state and is also one of the largest cities in the mid-west among large states. It is the home of Indiana University and Indiana State University. Other colleges in Bloomington are Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Indiana University Southeast, Indiana University of Kentucky, Indiana University of Nashville and more. This is a fairly well-educated and professional population in Bloomington.

The area code for Bloomington is 812, and it includes Columbus and Clarksville. The area code for Columbus is 812 as well, and it covers the cities of Gary, Indianapolis, Muncie, Evansville, Indianapolis, Seymour and Warsaw. The area code for Clarksville is 813, and it covers the towns of Elkhart, Bellevue, Warsaw and Bloomington. Bloomington is a small college town and is located in southwestern Indiana on the shores of Lake Michigan. The downtown area is filled with bars, restaurants, shops, restaurants, hotels, office buildings and other establishments that have been in Bloomington for several generations.

The area code for Indianapolis is 812, which includes the city of Indianapolis, as well as a number of surrounding suburbs including Cherry, Hazelwood, Plainfield, Woodridge and Union City. Indianapolis is also the state's largest city. The Indianapolis Metropolitan Statistical Center has a map that shows the distribution of the areas served by the area codes for the entire state. The maps can be used to find out information about population density, educational attainment, employment data, the average income level, and more. The maps can also be used to determine where businesses are located in an area.

Indiana is a major city in the Midwest, a very important industrial state and home to a lot of Fortune 500 companies, including Carrier Corp., Cummins Engine Co. and Ford Motor Co. Indiana is also one of the most populated areas in the Midwest and is the cultural center of the entire state. Bloomington is also known for its arts and history and is home to some of the best museums, galleries and historic sites in the entire United States. It was named the tenth best metropolitan area for art lovers in the United States by U.S. News and World Report. Visitors can experience the many attractions, landmarks, historical sites and sights of this region.

Cities in Areacode 812

  • Bloomington
  • Clarksville
  • Columbus
  • Evansville
  • Jeffersonville
  • New Albany
  • Terre Haute

Phone Prefixes in the 812 Areacode

8XX Areacode