Georgia - Area Code 706

Where is Area Code 706?

Area code (706) is in the state of Georgia

Columbus, Ga., and Augusta, Ga., are the two most populous cities in Georgia, and have been the two major centers for commerce and industry. Columbus, Ga., is also the capital of Fulton County. Augusta, Ga., is the seat of Kershaw County and is one of the oldest municipalities in Georgia. Both cities have their own historical attractions. Atlanta has become an increasingly popular tourist destination.


Columbus, Ga., is a unified city-city located on the eastern border of the state of Georgia. Columbus is on the southern boundary of Fulton County, on the north bank of the Chattahoochee river, just across from Phenix City. It's the capital of Fulton County, with which it formally joined in 1970. Atlanta, Ga., is the seat of Gwinnett County. Atlanta was named after a Greek word meaning "sea." Columbus has a population of roughly 400,000 people. It's home to the headquarters of several large corporations.

The capital of Columbus, Ga., is the downtown area around the Central Business District. There are many restaurants, entertainment venues, museums, parks and a major airport. The city is served by major highways such as Interstates 75, I-75 and SR 535. The downtown area also includes a major business district along Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Fifth Street and Piedmont Avenue. Downtown Columbus offers many fine dining establishments, shopping malls, museums and art galleries.

In the central part of Fulton County is the city of Gwinnett. In this part of Fulton County, Gwinnett is divided into four sections: DeKalb, Cobb, Clayton and Gwinnett. These sections are known for their distinct climates and terrain. The climate in the western parts of the region is dry and cool, while the southern portions of the region receive substantial rainfall. The northern part of the region is more humid and receives heavy rainfall during the summer months. The eastern region of the region has a mild climate and enjoys milder weather.

In the south central part of Georgia is Augusta. Augusta is located along the south-eastern part of the state. The metropolitan area of Augusta has a population of over one million people. Augusta is Georgia's second largest city and is the seat of Lawrence County. The city is well connected to Atlanta by roadways and railroads. It is served by the Georgia Toll Road and Georgia Light Rail. The University of Georgia at Augusta is located in Augusta.